Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines


It’s a fight to the death—on live TV—when a gladiator’s daughter steps into the arena

Lyn is a neo-gladiator’s daughter, through and through. Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family. Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator. Remind him constantly of his victories. And most importantly: Never leave the stadium when your father is dying. The rules help the family survive, but rules—and the GSA—can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn’s seventh father, he also captures Lyn’s dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him... For fans of The Hunger Games and Fight Club, Lise Haines’ debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence—a modern world that’s disturbingly easy to imagine.



Though Girl in the Arena was unusual, and it was also very original. I haven't read any other books having to do with gladiators before. I found this book to be kind of slow. And a lot of it seemed too much in the characters head. To me it seemed like Lyn was so opinionated that her thoughts took over the story instead of the plot.

Overall, I think I would have liked it more if there was more fighting. It lacks the amount of action that all the hype led you to believe will happen. *

I totally didn't dislike this book, it was really addicting and I read it fast! But, unfortunately I didn't like it as much as I thought I would.**


*I mean... have you seen this song?! It is made of WIN.

** I am by no means trying to discourage you from reading this book. It was fun!